What’s really going on here…

Addiction can be such a heavy, dry and depressing subject to read about. When I was an addict, I was for sure not going into a bookstore to read a recovery self-help book. I’ve always felt like those books have too much of a “them and us” feel. I’m the poor girl, laying drunk in a ditch and the author is some prestigious scholar living behind a white-picket fence telling me what’s wrong with my brain and giving me steps to fix my life.

I didn’t need that.

I needed to be understood. Emphasized with. Cared about. Sought after. Loved.

I promise not to tell you many statistics. I’m not going to explain what’s happening in your brain, and I won’t bore you with many of my horror stories. You know enough by the road you’ve traveled, so I don’t need to depress you with mine. You are not a statistic. You are a real person.  This time is me merely grabbing for your hand and saying, “I’ve made it out alive; so can you.”

I want you to know that you’re not alone and I hope you feel that when I share my life with you. I don’t know where life finds you right now. Maybe you’re two years sober. Maybe you’re in a 90-day rehab. Maybe you’re part of a recovery group at your church. Or maybe you’re sitting on a curb right now; desperate for a fix, wondering if anyone in this world sees you…and then you come across this blog.

Despite your current condition, I think there are some things you need to know about people like us. Stay tuned. You’re going to want to hear this.

Much Love,

Kori Powell

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “What’s really going on here…

Add yours

  1. Absolutely in suspense….I want to read it ALL…..So much love and passion for addicts is a place I hold dear to me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑